They Threw Us Away

Book One in the Teddies Saga.

Buddy wakes up in a garbage dump, filled with a certain awareness: he’s a teddy bear, he spent time at a Store, and he is meant for the loving arms of a child. Now he knows one more thing: Something has gone terribly wrong.

Soon he finds other discarded teddies—Horace, Sugar, Sunny, and Reginald. They all agree that they need to get back to the Store if they’re ever to fulfill their destinies. So they embark on a perilous trek across the dump and into a world filled with seemingly insurmountable challenges. Can they find their way home?

Welcome to the Teddies Saga, a wildly original middle-grade trilogy from New York Times-bestselling author Daniel Kraus. Equal parts Toy Story and Lord of the FliesThey Threw Us Away is the unforgettable start of a captivating new series.  

With illustrations by Rovina Cai.

“A deliciously macabre fairy tale, full of snuggles.” 

Holly Black